Have you ever wanted something so bad that, it’s the only thing that occupies your mind? You are constantly googling its features, imagining how cool and happy you’ll feel when you get it or the things you’ll do with it. You probably even have more information on the product than the manufacturers; yes that’s how bad you want it.

What happens when you finally get it? You will probably be excited about it for a couple of days or weeks, depending on how valuable the item is. After a while, the excitement starts to wear out to when it’s almost non-existent, let’s call this item an iPad. It gets to a point, you forget it at home or you look at it and be like…nah there is no space in my bag for you today or you just going to be too much load. That’s when the race for another item begins.

That’s how pretty much everything else in life is. Whether material or non-material things like a partner, a job, a car and so on. We are constantly in a race with ourselves to get something better, someone better or somewhere better that we are completely ignorant of what better is. This leads us to set unrealistic standards and almost impossible to achieve dreams which then robs us of our happiness. Which in itself (happiness), is scarce.

I was working in an organization initially, it gave me so much fulfillment, I was appreciated, challenged, taught, learned, frustrated, happy, angry in one day. Most time I get home exhausted but the truth is that I liked it. Felt like I was making an impact. But for doing so much I felt I deserve a better pay and when that didn’t happen, I left. I moved to a new organization with a double of what I was paid before and I thought that was it. I got my better!

Although my work time was lesser, job load was way lesser and the environment was friendly, but I had little or no fulfillment working there. The challenges were not there. I was just going through a routine and then I pack my bag and leave by 5. This is good but not good for me. It took the feeling of overcoming a challenge away, it took my drive and hunger for knowledge away and I had so much time to spare. It got so bad that sometimes, I stayed at work just so I can get home a bit late. At this point, I was desperate for something better.

If you don’t consciously tell yourself to live for the moment, enjoy and appreciate what you have now, you will never be satisfied. Wanting more is healthy, but contentment is key. A richer boyfriend is not necessarily a better boyfriend, a bigger pay is not necessarily a better job.

Bare is mind that happiness is an inside job. Only you can make you happy; waste no time and effort searching for happiness in material things or in the world at large. Also, there is no true contentment in having or getting, try giving. Reach out, share, smile (I’m also learning), hug deeply, cry when you have to and let go. Remember “the grass ain’t always greener on the other side”.

